|Inside Camp Greenwood|
Inside Camp Greenwood the 2012 summer camping program busy registering people for camp.. We have selected our summer staff and are in the process of equipping them. View and learn about them by clicking on Camp Staff.
This year we have a camp for all ages from 4 year olds to grandparents. If you are a grandparent and would like to experience camp with your grandchildren, sign up together for 3 days and 2 nights of God's great out-of-doors.
HISTORY OF GREENWOOD -
In the late 1940's the Christian Education Committee of the Synod of Michigan began to look for a site that would become a camp for the Synod. In 1950 they put a down payment on a piece of land in Northwest Kent County. The purchase price for approximately 250 acres of land with frontage of four of a chain of five lakes was $60,000. This land had been operating at "Woodbeck Landing Resort" for approximately 5 years before being purchased. The camp office, Northside, and possibly Hayes Point are the only original buildings still standing.
During the 1950's and 1960's the philosophy of camping changed. For Junior High students, North Point was developed for small group camping. This small group camping occurred on the North side of MacClain road in three sites known as Ridge, Forest and Jungle. On the South side of MacClain there were also camps. This was larger group camping for 5th and 6th graders and used primarily a Sunday School model, adapted for outdoor use.
By 1973 the future of Camp Greenwood was uncertain. The Presbyterian Church had reorganized and the new Synod of the Covenant now was comprised of the former Synods of Michigan, Ohio, and Kentucky. This new Synod decided that because of a new model of operating, and declining use at Camp Greenwood, that Camp Greenwood be sold. At this point the Presbytery of Lake Michigan started to look at Camp Greenwood as a possible site for a Presbytery camping experience.
In 1985 interest in the camp was high, and much work was being done. A part time administrator, Annette Shauver was hired by Camp Greenwood. She lived in Lansing during the year, and moved into the Embudo cabin during the summer. Camp programs continued to grow and off season use increased.
1986 brought a major change to Camp Greenwood. The old Quonset hut that stood where cabin #2 now stands was hit by lightning on a Thursday night (one night before it was to be used). It burned to the ground, and was quickly replaced by a new wood frame cabin. The Presbytery now realized the potential of new cabins at Camp Greenwood and set up a capitol funds campaign to raise $250,000. Looking toward a year round facility, several of the new cabins were equipped with heaters, the dining hall and Embudo were renovated, and major work was done to the electrical system and water system.
By 1988 the Presbytery realized that with the increased year round use there was a need for a full time, year round director at Camp Greenwood. Rev. Richard Mahlmann came to Camp Greenwood as the "Associate for Camp Greenwood" in October 1988 and the Retreat Center was converted back to a Director's house. During this time, Camp Greenwood was accredited by the American Camping Association, a large accomplishment which would not have been possible before that time.